You are here: Home / Research / Subject Guides / Genealogy

Genealogy

The study of family ancestries and histories
National Archives: Genealogists/Family Historians
A great starting place for genealogical research, how-to tips for beginners and experts, links to primary sources world-wide, and databases of family trees.
National Archives: State Archives
Genealogists may need to get information from state archives and historical societies. Here is contact information as of January, 2006
Cyndi’s List
A categorized and cross-referenced index to genealogical resources on the Internet, 261,000+ links for family history! (as of 9/1/06)
Repository of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
Iowa Genealogical Society
IGS is a non-profit organization whose mission is to create and foster an interest in genealogy and to aid others in researching their family history. IGS was founded in 1965 by a small group of dedicated genealogists who met in members' houses and carried the original collection in an orange crate. Today our 3,000+ members are worldwide and the book collection alone spans the length of over five football fields.
State Historical Society of Iowa
A main repository of Iowa historical and genealogical information.
Society of American Archivists
Organizations, associations and groups related to or of interest to the archival profession.
« February 2019 »
February
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728
Upcoming Events
Teen Mystery Party Feb 19, 2019 05:00 PM - 06:00 PM — Library Classroom
Morning Story Time Feb 20, 2019 10:00 AM - 10:30 AM — Storytime Room
Teen Wiivening: Rock Band Feb 26, 2019 05:00 PM - 06:00 PM — Teen Zone
Morning Story Time Feb 27, 2019 10:00 AM - 10:30 AM — Storytime Room
Author Talk: Karen Carr Feb 28, 2019 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
Previous events…
Upcoming events…
This resource is supported by the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act as administered by State Library of Iowa.